How would you do 4X?

Started by
7 comments, last by kwikc 10 months, 2 weeks ago

With my life being pure chaos, I had to get a distraction, so I have started making a simple 4X game, i.e. a game like Civilization, in JavaScript. The big inspiration was A:I started playing Civilization 1 online again, and felt the old drive but also limited, and B: I have since learned some algorithms for creating infinite game worlds, and I always hated how crampedthe Civ maps were. So why not try my own!

The major differences from other 4X games will likely be the size of maps (laaarge, maybe infinite), tech tree (large, maybe 1000+ of both advances, improvements, and units), and a very simple visual format (think Civ1 but higher res, using a lot of AI generated images for background). It's no revolution, but it seems like a doable side project, considering my existing interests (history, big time!)

Before getting too far into it, though, I wanted to know if there ae any 4X buffs out there who always wanted some feature to be put into a game, or love some idea that other 4X games do not explore beyond the basics. If you have ideas for what to put into a 4X, let me know?

[DEDACTED FOR SECURITY REASONS]

Advertisement

4X games, at least good ones, are not “simple”.

For example, defining the constraints for the automatic generation of stats, names and graphics for numerous unit variants and then testing them is more difficult than designing a small range of units and making changes gradually according to playtest findings.