Which engine for my game?

Started by
6 comments, last by MillyLamp 6 months, 3 weeks ago

Hi!

I have an idea for a game I want to make but I don’t know which engine to choose. I have no programming experience apart from some really basic html. I made a text-based game using Twine, but I think it will be hard to make this game in Twine… Do you have any ideas which engine I should use if I want to avoid as much programming as possible and still make it work?

My idea: A text-based game where you are exploring a village. This is how I picture it would look on the screen: There is a column/menu to the right for save, load, inventory and health bar. On the top, left of the menu there is room for a picture showing a landscape/the part of the village you are currently at. Below the picture there is room for text telling you what is happening, dialogue, clickable text etc. It would be nice to be able to click on certain parts of the picture, making you go to different parts of the village, but I could also work around that with text if it makes things easier. Im making the music and the art myself and I want to be able to put it in the game in a smooth/easy way.

Although I cant think of any examples, I guess you have played many games using a similar setup? I find it hard to make it with Twine because of the interface I want to have, but if you have a simple solution to make it work I would of course appreciate that aswell!

Advertisement

@Adrenalinus RPG Maker.

RPG Maker was mentioned already, I don't know anything about it, I think it might very well work for your game tho,
Godot is what i use, and it involves coding in some way, its very good engine, at least for hobbyists in its current state,

If you aren't ever planning to branch out from Top Down FF like RPG games, then go with RPG Maker,
If you on the other hand want to do different style of games, then you should go with Godot or something else that is flexible that isn't Unity.