Game Programming Retardation HELP!

Started by
6 comments, last by arwez 23 years, 10 months ago
I am a semi newbie programmer of directdraw. I have read lamothe''s Trick of the game guru book and created a frogger type game with no animation and only one level that goes on forever, in other words it is a piece of crap. After this i have not touched VC++ IN MONTHS! I don''t know what to do. The thought of creating my own 2d game engine seems impossible. I understand most of the basics of directdraw, but I am sure as hell not going to create an engine without copy paste. I even used ddutil.cpp to make the frogger game and I am afraid to even look at the source code of the ddutil. Is it possible for me to ever get past being a newbie? Can someone help me boost my confidence or be my guide thru my retardation!?
Advertisement
Get the book ''Inside DirectX.'' Taught me so much than I already knew, and goes much more into detail about the things Lamothe leaves alone. It will help you alot more, just follow it. You may find yourself copying and pasting for a little while, but only because its hard to memorize functions the first or second time you see em.

-----------------------------

A wise man once said "A person with half a clue is more dangerous than a person with or without one."
-----------------------------A wise man once said "A person with half a clue is more dangerous than a person with or without one."The Micro$haft BSOD T-Shirt
self confidence is the key to success.
But don''t overestimate yourself too.

I made my 2d game engine just after creating a little DirectDraw APP that display a sprite on a two layered image.
I speed up the process a bit.
(Blitting only what have changed)

And I went to my 2D engine.
My only problem wasn''t DDraw at all but rather not really knowing which kind of 2d engine I wanted.
...bad designed is your worste ennemy...

Think twice before even writting a single line of code.