Resolution independent positioning

Started by
11 comments, last by futlib 13 years, 2 months ago
Hi,

I'm working on an Android game (I don't think the issue is Android-only though) and I want to support all available resolutions and screen sizes. I studied the <a href="http://developer.android.com/guide/practices/screens_support.html">dev guide</a> and saved my background images in multiple resolutions:

- 240x432 (ldpi)
- 320x480 (mdpi)
- 480x854 (hdpi)

These resolutions have different aspect ratios. Furthermore, at each density level, there are more resolutions, also with different aspect ratios.

I solved that problem by simply centering my backgrounds. As long as I make sure that the relevant areas are visible on each device, it works fine.

However, now I want to position elements on specific spots of the image, which I am unable to achieve with my current approach. I could hard code positions for each resolution, but there has to be a better solution. Density independent pixels don't do the trick because of the different aspect ratios.

How do/would you approach this?
Advertisement
You could try homogenous coordinates, I started with these on iPad and thought it would make life easier going down to iPhone 4 / iPhone / iPod etc.

In the end I used a half and half approach of homogenous coordinates and actual pixel size/positions.
One way to do it to use border relative positioning. I place my gui by using the following convention:

x coord:
=0 => center at parent container
<0 => place right border of element abs(x) pixel away from right border of parent container
>0 => place left border of element abs(x) pixel away from left border of parent container

y coord: like x coord

My gui is represented by a tree of containers, where the root is the screen and the leafs are the widgets like buttons etc.
Thanks for your replies, but I'm not really sure I understand either of your approaches, sounds quite challenging :(