Choices

Started by
13 comments, last by Serapth 12 years, 5 months ago
Hi there, I'm an aspiring graphic artist and I currently am working on my personal project.

Now my problem is I suck at programming, I tried to learn C++ and gave up after a couple of days, and anyway I suck at advanced mathematics.

So I would like to know if it is okay when the time comes and after I find a programmer to leave every choices of programming my project to him, such as language choices, creating an engine or not...Do programmers who participate in other people's project mind or Don't they mind whether it's them or the project owner who chose?

I'm afraid the programmer will say something like "you don't even know which language you want the game to be written in, I don't think you're serious about your project so don't count me in".
Advertisement

So I would like to know if it is okay when the time comes and after I find a programmer to leave every choices of programming my project to him, such as language choices, creating an engine or not...Do programmers who participate in other people's project mind or Don't they mind whether it's them or the project owner who chose?

It really doesn't matter what language he uses. It would be a good idea to leave it up to him because then he can work with whatever he wants to. If he does for some reason think less of you because you don't know what language to use, then he has issues. That is his thing to worry about. You could give some suggestions and why, but if you don't have a clue about programming leave it up to him.

It may be a better idea for you to use some game making utility that already has an engine ready to use, because all you want to do is make the art assets and game part. If you are planning on getting a programmer to help you though, get him involved as soon as you can. This way, he will feel more apart of the project and can help you in the planning stages.