Build Lua Source Into Project

Started by
4 comments, last by Hodgman 11 years ago

Things are coming along nicely, and my game engine's starting to support some really nice features (when they're not broke!). I'd like to support Lua in my own. I've started checking out tutorials that show how to build it as a library and link it, but I'd rather import the source into my engine, and build the Lua source code itself into my engine to totally integrate it. This way, when I release it, developers won't have an issue having to build the library themselves, setup all the linking etc...

The problem is, Lua's source code contains its own main() functions in lua.c and luac.c. I've read online that I can just omit lua.h/.c and luac.h/.c, but it looks like I'd be missing out on some error checking that looks important.

I'm also new to Lua, so I'll be learning how it works as I try to get it to compile. I'm also using Xcode 4 to build this for Mac and iOS of that's important.

Advertisement
lua.c is the source to build the stand-alone Lua interpreter. luac.c is the source to build the standalone Lua compiler, to pre-compile scripts to bytecode. They don't include any error checking that would be important for any kind of game engine, although it might be useful to study so that you can see what kind of error checking they do perform and see if it might be useful to include such in your own project. But a lot of what they perform mostly has to do with parsing command-line arguments on startup, so if you are not planning on interacting much with your game via command-line args then you don't need that.

Lua is a simple enough library to work with. It doesn't include any outside dependencies, it's small and lightweight enough that you don't necessarily have to build it as a library if you don't want, etc... You can just include any .c file that doesn't include it's own main() directly into your project.