• Create Account

Prevent Losing Entire Project To Malware

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
20 replies to this topic

#1 RalemProductions   Members   -  Reputation: 200

0Likes

Posted 17 May 2014 - 09:12 PM

So I was working on a game for several months and it got encrypted by some ransomware named Cryptoware. I have a separate computer I use for my game programming, so I thought my computer was safe, but that turned out to not be the case. Any advice on what I should do in the future to prevent such catastrophes? I am a solo game developer so I don't have much of a budget, but would like to know what the options are. 

Sponsor:

#2 Shane C   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1184

0Likes

Posted 17 May 2014 - 09:14 PM

Do you have a good, name brand antivirus program?

Getting the subscription to this is worth the money. My Norton has alerted me to viruses before.

#3 RalemProductions   Members   -  Reputation: 200

0Likes

Posted 17 May 2014 - 09:20 PM

I was using Ad-Aware, but due to it not catching the malware I have stopped using it.

#4 phil_t   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3258

19Likes

Posted 17 May 2014 - 09:31 PM

You should be using a version control system on a remote server (e.g. github). If your computer dies or your files are held for ransom by a virus, you can just go back to the latest version that you checked in.

#5 Crypter   Members   -  Reputation: 662

4Likes

Posted 17 May 2014 - 09:47 PM

Sorry for the loss.

It is strongly encouraged to always make backups; version control software is also worth checking into (we use BitBucket with Mercurial) and is the recommended suggestion for software projects.

This is a good reminder to everyone - if you have not made any backups yet, do it now.