First Game Guidance

Started by
14 comments, last by Vers 9 years, 3 months ago

Hello there!

I'm new around here and I was directed to this forum to write my first post.

I'm kinda looking for help, you see.

I'm a student, on my second (and last year) of app development, on my first year I did mostly Java (NetBeans) and some C#(MS Visual Studio), as well as mark-up languages (XML, XPath, XQuery...). And this year I'm doing a bit of C, mostly threads and processes as well as developing for Android (Eclipse, and moving to Android Studio).

Java the most I've done is interfaces that connect to databases and work with them, such as using "result sets" or calling database functions or procedures. In C#, similar but without functions and procedures.

So far so good, right?

Well the thing is I want to get into game development and I have an idea or two, but although I know a bit about programming I've never made a game, so I'm not sure where to start. And that's why I'm here!

I'd like to start with something like a Grand Strategy game, but anything that gets me into knowing how a game works inside would be fine.

So, can anyone help me as to where start?

Thank you for your time~

EDIT: Since threads are not supposed to go off topic I think it would be wise if I updated this thread as I make progress or have doubts on my first steps into making a game, before I get into more complicated stuff.

Advertisement

Welcome!

Have you read the FAQ on the right? I know its easy to miss, but its got lots of valuable information for people just getting started.

I have two recommendations for you: