Hey everyone! Got advice?

Started by
11 comments, last by frob 9 years, 2 months ago

Hey everyone! My name is Wilfido Castaneda and I'm from Chicago! I've been working away on my own, but I figured it's better to come out of my shell and meet like minded people instead of isolating myself!

Also if you have the time to give me some career advice...

I do not have a degree because of money, but I am working hard to build up my portfolio to not only become better at making games, but have something to show future employers. I went to school from Fall 2011 - Fa11 2012.

I wasn't able to finish school but I'm busting my butt to make up for it on my own by working on my own projects. Currently I lean towards design and programming. I already understand the game project cycle from the time I had in school and I'm not really a newbie when it comes to making games. However, my concern comes from not having a degree and I want to know how badly that affects my chances of finding a job in this industry. I'm doing my best to look for and apply for entry level jobs, but currently I have no luck. My options right now include continuing looking for work, or flat out starting my own company, but right now I'd rather get a job and bolster my resume.

Is there any advice you have for me being stuck in this position?

Advertisement

I do not have any degree and have a job so it's not hopeless at least smile.png. My way to get the job was following. It's was a long term plan.

• Choose a single thing to focus on. Mine was programming. I would suggest you focus on programming to as it transfers to other jobs. Design is harder to get hired as with no experience.
  • Make a homepage and create complete finished projects that show of the area you focus on. If it is rendering make cool tech-demos on graphic techniques, if it is AI make AI test programs.
  • Also make one or two small simple games for the homepage to show you have completed a game project also.