I want to learn how to make better 3D models

Started by
10 comments, last by Onigiri Flash 8 years, 10 months ago

The title pretty much sums up this post. happy.png I have a few 2D games that I will release soon (perhaps within the next two months) after refactoring/adding a few more features. The most ambitious game I've undertaken thus far is a 2D roguelike.

I want to eventually move into the realm of 3D game development. Because I am a solo developer, I'll have to make all of the assets myself for now (plus, I enjoy learning new things anyway tongue.png). I know how to use Blender for [extremely] basic rigging, modeling, and animation...so I came up with the bright idea of making short films (5-10 minute movies) for practice. What do you think?

Do you know of any particular resources that would help me improve my 3D modelling skills? I'm currently searching (you guessed it) YouTube for video tutorials related to modelling, camera movement, lighting, etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated! smile.png

P.S. I'm also interested in hearing your recommendations for the art style. Should I start with cartoon or more realistic models?

Advertisement

so I came up with the bright idea of making short films (5-10 minute movies) for practice.

You learn a lot from making your own tutorials, it's the reason so many companies require their artist to make tutorials, that and it's a easy way to teach new artists.

Also most 3D artist watch hours of tutorials hoping to find some thing they missed, so we will be watching eagerly.

Do you know of any particular resources that would help me improve my 3D modelling skills?

What level are you at?

Can you make a complete replica of a Keyboard button, Worm, Coffee cup, Desk, Working cabinet, Bicycle, Rat, Motorcar, Cat, Cow, Horse, Old Man and finally a Young woman?

I can easier help you if I know what you need to learn next and what your end goal is.