A good book about linux?

Started by
8 comments, last by Alberth 8 years, 8 months ago

I'm a pure Windows guy but i'm working with linux and raspberries pretty heavily in my current project and i wanted to know if you guys could recommand a book that could give me a solid fundation with the following traits:

- No begginer level book, i'm new to linux but not new to computers nor to programming

- Not a programmer book : i'm looking for a book on using and managing linux, the programming part isn't much of an issue as i'm using VisualGDB and having no problems so far

- Not a humor book : i like formal content packed books where every page feels like it was Worth reading, i don't need a light tone to keep me interested at all, so at equal quality between 2 books suggest the most "academic" one.

- Not a chose your linux book, the choice is made and it's raspbian, i'm looking for something about linux and not about a specific distribution nor about their pro & cons

- No user interface, i'm only using the PIs through SSH and have zero interest in X.

I'm finding myself having to Google things that are pretty basic like "how do i set a program to start on boot without anyone logging on and keep running in the background unatached to a specific bash instance" and i think it's time i step up and actually learn this more formally, any advice is most welcome.

Advertisement

In my opinion the best book you can ever lay your hands on about linux is available online and it's called Google.

I've purchased several Linux books before, and although when purchased their content is useful, they have one thing in common: They very quickly become outdated, faster than any other book in any other technical subject.

Linux and the programs upon it move at such a pace, that if you spend your hard earned cash on a book about it then you can gaurantee that by the next minor version of the kernel half of what's in that book will be inaccurate.