Lithtech vs. Quake III

Started by
21 comments, last by Elliott AGP 22 years, 10 months ago
Over the past several months as a freelance game developer, I have run into a small issue that I am interested in. I have been working on projects for both the XBox and the PC using Lithtech 3.0 and the ass-kicker Quake III. Because they are fairly similar in license cost (Lithtech 250. Quake III 300.) I was curious to see what people think is better about each in a business sense. I know that quake is a marketing dream, and has the advantage of a proven user base and excellent technology, but the Lithtech Engine provides an adequate if not ass kicking addition to game engines. Please post any responses and feel free to dump your oppinions. Elliott Sommer No one can run without taking a first step.
No one can run without taking a first step.
Advertisement
I´d say that depends on the kind of game you´re going to make. As far as i can tell, the Q3 is just a tad better.... not that it´s really going to make a difference with the power the xbox has. How about editing tools? As far as I know the support for Q3 is better, there´s also a large fan-pool you can draw resources from.
I´m assuming you mean $300000, right? Depends on what you think you can buy yourself for 50k ...

Since I´ve seen both of them in action I´d go with the Lith engine, but this is not an objective assesment, but rather a personal choice (i just like the look of it).
LoL you assume correctly...

Thanks for your input

quote:Original post by Elliott AGP

I know that quake is a marketing dream, and has the advantage of a proven user base and excellent technology

Quake engines were good advertising back when no one was using them. Now that its a regular occurance to license Quake or Unreal engines, its just a bullet point. People will just want to know how youve modified it. If you arent willing to spend years modifying it beyond its original state, its nothing more than that check mark of ''has good engine''.