Just few questions...

Started by
2 comments, last by Iceverin 9 years, 4 months ago

Hi, this is my first topic here (sorry for my english, i'm from Poland). I just decided to start learning game programming (in C++, DirectX or OpenGL, WinAPI etc.), so I created my account on GameDev because it looks like a very big and nice community of game developers. So I have few questions here:

1. What is the best IDE for game programming? (I was thinking about Visual Studio, but I want to hear your opinion).
  2. What is better - OpenGL or DirectX (I know that they are both have good sides and bad sides, but I want to know which is used commonly and which is more peformance) and do you have any good tutorials or books for them?
  3. And of course do you have any advices or tips about making games for beginners.

I'm not a complete newbie in programming, I know Java very well but don't have much expirence on making games or applications.

Waiting for your answers ;)

Advertisement

Eh, those are tough questions to answer, as they're either subjective, or depend on different things. It would be like asking what the best car is. It depends on who you are and what you're doing. Do you have kids, live in a snowy area, need to haul heavy objects? The best car is going to be different from a single person driving around town :P

For example, I like Opengl and Code::Blocks, but I'm also developing on linux and am interested in keeping my games multi-platform. Those might not be the ideal choices for you, depending on a lot of factors. Do you mind giving us a little more information about your targeted platform, type of games you might be interested in doing, whether you plan on using an engine at some point, etc. etc. If you don't know the answers to those, then really, most IDE's will probably be fine for the time being (and you can always switch later, I've gone through several until I found one that I like).