MMORPG Roadmap Needed

Started by
6 comments, last by bpopp 21 years, 11 months ago
Like many of you, I''m a single programmer that dreams day-and-night of building a 3D MMORPG (or more-likely just a MORPG). Ideally, this would be an open-source project, which would allow many people from all over the world to contribute. Leads would have to be designated and would have to maintain final control over design and implementation. All of this would be managed via a web-based interface providing CVS, forums, chat, etc. Personally, I have many years (3) programming experience in C & C++, but am just starting in 3D game development. I''m also very knowledgeable with relational database design and web scripting (PHP, ASP, etc.) My question is, can anyone offer suggestions for the best way to achieve this dream? I work a full-time job (web developer) so most of this will be done after work and on weekends. Here''s my tentative plan (currently on 1 and 2): 1) Study common, fundamental 3D structures, functions, and algorithms (matrices, vectors, quadtrees, etc.) and learn to apply them to Direct3d and OpenGL (4 months) 2) Develop a flexible terrain generator including water, trees, dynamic weather, texture mapping, etc. (2-3 months) 3) Develop a demo which models an X file (from 3DS Max) and features multiple animations (running, sitting, swinging, casting, etc.). The model should also allow skins to dynamically be changed to accomodate different clothes, armor, etc. (2 months) 4) Develop a particle system which can be used for spell affects, water effects, combat animations, etc. (1 month) 5) Develop or find flexible OpenGL/Direct3D UI objects for use in the game''s interface (sliders, textboxes, spinners, etc.) (1-2 months) 6) Develop a workable client/server UDP demo (Winsock based). The server should be able to be ''fed'' from a SQL database (mySQL)(2-3 months) 7) Develop or find an auto-update system for propagating a revised client and its data. (1 month) Obviously this