Computing jobs in the UK

Started by
4 comments, last by d000hg 21 years, 9 months ago
If you''re not living in the UK this won''t make much sense. Right some background on my situation. I''m at Durham University studying Natural Science (you get to choose up to 3 sciences to study). I graduate in a year and should get a 1st or 2:1, and my degree will list the subjects Maths, Physics and Computer Science. The compsci side included courses on c++ and java, but also OO theory like design patterns, reuse and all that jazz. I''ve also been programming on & off since I was about 8. I''m proficient in C,C++ & Java (also know some basic & fortran, + SQL & html) 1st Question: Will the fact my degree is not in CS affect my changes of getting a job in computers? 2nd Question: What kind of IT jobs actually are there? I know programmer (game/serious) and network manager, but what else? I want to program, but not necessarily just that. While I love programming games, apparently pay is much lower. Could I find a serious IT job that''s easy and pays well and develop games on the side - network manager springs to mind. 3rd Question: Just what do IT people get payed in the UK ie game programmers, serious programmers etc.. John 3:16
Advertisement
Hi.

1) No. I have a Joint Hons degree in Biology & Comp Sci.

2) the IT market is depressed and so whilst there are jobs out there they are few & far between, and the starting salaries are depressed compared to 18 months ago. (I know as I am trying to move jobs)

3) Can''t comment on game programmers as it is a hobby with me. I work with microprocessors and design / build / meet with customers to board level and my salary is > £30k and I have a load more benefits (fully financed car, etc)

Having said that, in my company I am one of the top earners for SW and I do work long hours / travel a lot.