HELP

Started by
12 comments, last by XRCOWBOY 21 years, 8 months ago
HELLO IM LOOKING IN TO BECOMING A GAME DEVELOPER WHEN I GET THROUGH WITH HIGH SCHOOL AND I HAVE NO EXPERIENCE IN ANY LANGUAGE AND WAS WONDERING IF ANYONE KNEW WHERE I COULD GET SOME FREE EASY TO USE PROGRAMS TO GET STARTED AND ALSO I NEED A LIST OF WHAT KINDA PROGRAMS I SHOULD GET XR_COWBOY
XR_COWBOY
Advertisement
Your caps lock key appears to be broken ...
I suggest you Start Here and read the first few articles.
ReactOS - an Open-source operating system compatible with Windows NT apps and drivers
that didnt help me much

XR_COWBOY
XR_COWBOY
You must figure out these things:

What kind of platform shall your games run on. (win32, linux, etc)

Then what kind of language you want to use like: C++,Delphi,VB, asm....

Then what kind of API to use, like DirectX or OpenGL

some links:

http:\\www.gametutorials.com \\Both of the belov
http:\\www.nehe.gamedev.net \\Fab openGL tuts
http:\\www.nexe.gamedev.net \\Some good DirectX Tuts
Do a search for dev c++ in google. its a free c++ compiler

--If you look to the clouds you cant see traps--

[edited by - Direct Dude on August 16, 2002 5:13:09 PM]
--If you look to the clouds you cant see traps--
XR_COWBOY:

That would depend on your definition of ''easy to use''. One good way to start is to use the gcc/g++ C/C++ compilers. If you have linux, you''ve probably got them already. If you''re using Windows, there might be ports. There are other free C/C++ compilers, but I''m not familiar with them.

I would also suggest picking up an introductory book on C/C++. There are lots of them, and this site has many reviews, so check them out before you spend your money.

John.
I''m always amazed at how tolerant people are on these forums. I would flame someone who did this so hard - and if I was an admin, he''d be banned and this thread deleted.

Fortunately I''m not in the mood for flames today, so I''ll leave it be.

But for crying out loud, don''t talk in all caps.