Newbie: 2 fundamentally different types of openGL programs?

Started by
15 comments, last by Andre the Giant 21 years, 7 months ago
Hello. Im a beginner to OpenGL. Ive been downloading sample programs with source code to read through them and Ive noticed that there seems to be 2 distinctly different ways to create an opengl program. One way seems to require less source code and opens a "dos box" along with the opengl window itself. Looking at the source code, the main function is defined as "int main()". This type of opengl program relies on functions such as these: glutDisplayFunc(Display); glutReshapeFunc(reshape); glutKeyboardFunc(KeyDown); to handle displaying, reshaping the window, and pressing a key, respectively. The other method involves more source code and does not create the "dos box" as mentioned above. I think that for this reason alone it is a better method. The main function is defined like this "int WINAPI WinMain(..." instead of just "int main()". There doesnt seem to be glut*() functions to handle events. Instead, the WndProc() function uses a SWITCH statement to catch events like: WM_KEYDOWN WM_MOUSEMOVE WM_SIZE What I would like to know is: which method is better? If the answer to that question is "it depends", then what does it depend on? Which method should I use in which situation. Being a beginner, all this stuff is confusing enough as it is, and I would prefer to only have to learn one method if possible. Thanks in advance! Its not my fault I''''m the biggest and the strongest; I don''''t even exercise.
Its not my fault I''m the biggest and the strongest; I don''t even exercise.
Advertisement