Is MFC dead now that we have C#?

Started by
25 comments, last by Shadow1234567890 21 years, 7 months ago
I don''t have much experience with visual C#.net. I only installed it a week ago. I liked it becasuse it is exactly what I thought it would be...a cross between visual basic and C++. That idea is in itself is appealing, but it also makes me upset because there seems to be no use for the MFC which I have also been trying to learn. C# seems to be by far the best way to quickly create powerful solutions for the windows platform. All comments are welcome, I hope this is a big discussion.
What do you mean ''Someday become a programmer?'' I'm a programmer right now!
Advertisement
There is way too much MFC legacy code around for it to go away anytime soon.

"When you know the LORD you have no need for masturbation!"
--AnkhSVN - A Visual Studio .NET Addin for the Subversion version control system.[Project site] [IRC channel] [Blog]
I have no experience and no interest in C#. I think in the long run, C# could become more popular than among first-time and average Windows programmers. Nonetheless, C/C++ with help from MFC and Win32 API will be around for a long time.

Microsoft will try to use C# for its upcoming Windows OSs, thus pushing C# popularity.

Personally, I am staying away from C#. Remember, C# is "managed" C++. C++ is currently the most dynamic, most extensible programming language. C++ inherits both low-level (C) and high-level (OOP) paradigms. We all know C is used for OS at the kernel level.

Kuphryn
my personal favorite is a mix of c++, stl, atl, and windows template library.
quote:Original post by kuphryn
Remember, C# is "managed" C++.

Uh, I don''t know enough about .Net to be 100% sure about this, but I think that''s wrong. Managed C++ != C#

Btw, does anyone use managed C++? Is it worth it? Do we have to actually port our code, or does managed C++ stay fairly close to unmanaged C++?

Cédric