How can i do a game like doom?

Started by
16 comments, last by snoofy 21 years, 7 months ago
Hi everyone I just want to do a game like "DOOM" im a beginner i only know how to program in C++. What more do i need to do game like "DOOM" Thanks
Advertisement
Geometry, sprite design and implimentation, platform (win/mac) API programming, drawing (win/QT/OGL/DX) API programming, practice, persistence.

-Sta7ic
A job at id Software.
"Wisdom is proportionate to your reference base. Intelligence is the ability to appropriately use that Wisdom."
Skip DOOM and go straight to DOOM 4! 13333333333337!
Well a beginner making a game like Doom seems like a pretty bad early object. Work your way up first.
yeah, make a tetris clone, just like everyone of us and stay cool LOL
[size="2"]I like the Walrus best.
Do what Ben Franklin did. Go to sleep, you insomniac, with a spoon in your hand. If you feel something really cold on your genitalia then you''ll be unconsciously exited and will have remembered what you''ve been pondering about and the solution that you ''dreamed'' about.
quote:Do what Ben Franklin did. Go to sleep, you insomniac, with a spoon in your hand. If you feel something really cold on your genitalia then you''ll be unconsciously exited and will have remembered what you''ve been pondering about and the solution that you ''dreamed'' about.

I''m sorry, you do what?
quote:Original post by snoofy
Hi everyone

I just want to do a game like "DOOM" im a beginner i only know how to program in C++.

What more do i need to do game like "DOOM"

Thanks