Motivation...

Started by
10 comments, last by Blechx 20 years, 9 months ago
Reading this forum always gets me in the mood for programming something of my own. Ive been programming on small uncompleted games for some time but ive never managed to finish one really. I have basic knowledge in C/C++ and i know i could make a simple game, i even have a game idea i know will work. Im planning on programming something for the GBA platform and I have been reading tutorials and have basic understanding in how the platform works. I have idea, graphics, and all that stuff.My probelm is that i never get started. Is anyone else experiencing the same thing or have anyone got any tips on how to really get started in the best way? Thank you
Advertisement
Hi,
I think you need to design more, well not so much design more really just go into greater detail, you need to break down your game into the smallest parts that you can programme e.g. functions, when youve decided on a function like say adding to numbers together write it on paper in pesudo code. i.e

1.0 Add to numbers together
-----------------------------------

1.0 get first number form user
2.0 store first number
3.0 get second number from user
4.0 store scond number
5.0 preform calculation
6.0 store the result of added numbers
7.0 output stored result to screen

-----------------------------------

then write your function e.g
void addnum(void){    int num,num2;    scanf(blah blah blah

this is just a simple example and should only be looked at like that obviously your functions/proceedures will be more complicated

you get the idea, i find it helps alot to design this way as it allows me to avoid problems later on, maybe that will get you on the road to getting something completed.

hope it helps a bit anyway

cheers

Just come up with a good design first. Start out small, and make yourself a small library of functions that can be reused. Let your design cook for a while in your head too.