Complete Newbie Here...A Little help?

Started by
14 comments, last by Higher_Justus 20 years, 4 months ago
Allo All... Ever since I was little I wanted to create games. I''ve used some really easy to use Game Makers like Rm2K and the like but now I want to go deeper into it. Problem is I hardly know where to start hehe, I''ve done a very small amount of programming in QBasic and I recently DLed a C++ Compiler. Im completely new to this, I''ve read a few articles, but the only way to learn is through experience...Can I get some starting tips, pointers and alot of help please?
Retribution day is coming...
Advertisement
If you want to make a 3d game:
http://www.genesis3d.com

Its a pretty old 3d engine with a huge community. Good for beginners!
Thanks for the engine.

But I really should start on the heavy stuff soon. I''ve been making Games Awhile but haven''t really learnt anything. Im starting Computer Science 101 this year at school so hopefully I''ll be on a good start.
Buy Accelerated C++ by Andrew Koening and Barbara E. Moo, of the "C++ In Depth" series. It is an excellent book to learn C++ from and will get you to an intermediate level while teaching you well .
quote:Original post by Anonymous Poster
Buy Accelerated C++ by Andrew Koening and Barbara E. Moo, of the "C++ In Depth" series. It is an excellent book to learn C++ from and will get you to an intermediate level while teaching you well .

Excellent recommendation... also try out Thinking in C++ Volumes 1 and 2 once you have finished Accelerated C++... they're available for free as ebooks from the author. Also, C++ in Action is a good book, and again available free as an ebook from the author's site (note this is from a beginner's perspective, as I am a beginner at C++ right now, learning from Accelerated C++).

[edited by - GoldenTiger on December 14, 2003 5:37:22 PM]
Hey, just wondering, where can yo uget these e-books,