Maple or Mathematica

Started by
20 comments, last by john_in_pdx 20 years ago
I''m a first time poster (just found this site and it rules). I am a university student and our school uses Maple. I would like to purchase some software for myself (to help with homework and for exploration). I was considering Maple since our school uses Maple, so I thought that it would be easier to transfer files, etc. I have heard that many more professionals use Mathematica. I was wondering what the general opinion is on both of these packages. Thanks In Advance, John
Advertisement
I''ve use Maple, had a student edition several years ago when I was working on my Ph.D. Never really played with Mathematica. But, Maple used to be primarily good for symbolic math and not so much numerical math, while Mathematica was better a numerical math (as was/is Matlab). I think Maple now does numerical and symbolic math, so maybe its more of a well-rounded competitor to Mathematica and Matlab. I do seem to recall that Mathematica always was supposed to be sort of the "rock star" of the mathematical software packages. Whatever that means. Really, I don''t think you could go wrong with either.

The following site looks immensely useful in making a decision such as this:

http://amath.colorado.edu/computing/mmm/

Provides direct syntax and functionality comparisons of Maple, Mathematic, and Matlab (and IDL). I wonder how Mathcad fits in?

Graham Rhodes
Senior Scientist
Applied Research Associates, Inc.
Graham Rhodes Moderator, Math & Physics forum @ gamedev.net
Good link.

Thanks a bunch!
It''s funny, our math department forces the students to learn and use Maple because its developer is an alumni. It works very well so I''m not complaining.