i heed help programming!!!!!!! badly!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Started by
30 comments, last by script x 19 years, 10 months ago
ok hey im totally new to game developement ive wanted to do it for soo long.. but i dont know where to start im guessing programming but i dont know.. please tell me where to start and give me some resources i can use to gain some knowledge of it like compilers modelers and stuff if u ahve aim zero or die2999
heeeeelp
Advertisement
If you want to start learning programming I''d recomend learning Python. It''s a powerful language that you can do a lot in. The code written in isn''t going to be as fast as code written in say C++ (which I would recomend staying away from until you actually know how to program in an easier language such as Python), however maximum speed is not what you need when learning to program. You need a language which takes care of the low level details and allows you to focus on the principles of programming.

How to think like a computer scientist may be a good book to read (it''s free to download online) to learn Python.
I agree Python is a great place to start. Check out this newbie Python book which teaches how to program by making games. By the end of the book you actually make an Asteriods clone. Sweet.
Several links.

You probably want to start at the top and work down.

The obligatory For Beginners link

Py game, very neat, lets you use python for game development

Pyopengl, for 3d

Game Tutorials(Tons of reletive stuff)

Cpp-Home (lots of example code)

Googled them

Great 2D tutorials

Flip-Code

MSDN

NEHE 3d opengl tutorials

gamedev.net articles

Quote:Michael TanczosCut that shit out. You shouldn't be spying on other people.. especially your parents. If your dad wanted to look at horses having sex with transexual eskimo midgets, that's his business and not yours.
I don't know why people even bother to use "Python".