Online Platformer?

Started by
7 comments, last by Ferrik Bromyde 19 years, 10 months ago
Howdy all! I'm new to the Gamedev forums, though I've lurked on and off for a year or two. I've never completed a game other than Tetris and similar small games (with the exception of a Myst-like game and a text adventure game I did a LONG ago), but I've been working on a game idea I really want to write. I want to be able to feel like I've accomplished something over time even if I don't finish it, which is always a possibility, so I'm working on an iterative game design, (i.e. I can build a small game, and build it into a larger one over time because of the modular/scalable design). Anyway, I have a few questions regarding said possible design. For lack of better ways to describe it, I may compare it to games that came before it. Basically, the game should be a 3d online platformer, with control and basic gameplay similar to Mario 64 (i.e. flips and jumps, etc.) There would be buildings, shops, etc. that have minigames and such you can play. As far as any PvP combat goes, that will be non-lethal and essentially like Super Smash Bros. Melee. Okay, so I took a lot of inspiration from Nintendo...what can I say? They make some awesome games. :) I also want to include a light RPG element through an inventory similar to Zelda or JKII. Additionally, I want to have the ability to basically connect a "house" you keep on your computer to any server you're on (this came from thinking about P2P gaming ideas and reading Snow Crash). You could then "invite" people into your home, etc. Servers and "houses" could be interconnected through portals of some sort, perhaps even a central gate that could "dial out" (to use a Stargate term) to other servers. Perhaps, to give the game a bit more focus, there will be a castle or other central location on each server where the "king" (player with special benefits) resides. The one with the most points is King, and points are gained possibly through mi