Sign in to follow this  

Stochastic AI systems

This topic is 4848 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, My name is Jim Price, this is my first post to the boards. A quick introduction : I am a Statistician who has spent the last few years working on building statistical models of dynamic organic / biological systems (in medical research), but am thinking of changing career. Am starting to look into AI, and have a quick question based on my initial reading around the topic. Many of the topics I have read have been essentially deterministic in nature. Is there much use of Stochastic models in game AI? Coming from a Bayesian background, I would also be interested in seeing if there has been any work done using Bayesian techniques (i.e. decision selection based on Maximum Utility for example). Thanks for any help you can provide. Regards, Jim.

I'm pretty sure that Timkin, one of the moderators here, often mentions Stochastic models and Bayesian techniques in his AI discussions. Unfortunately there was a heated discussion here recently that seems to have changed his mind about posting in these forums anymore. You might want to do a search for Stochastic models or Bayesian techniques, which will inevitably lead to some of his posts, or try sending him a private message. I think he was one of the best resources for AI in this forum, gaming and otherwise.

Unfortunately, I don't think many people here come from your background or have deep experience with the technologies it brings to the table.

Recently there has been a lot of interest in bayesian techniques, though I can't recall any games off the top of my head which have applied them. I am sure they are out there though.