White dots & strings of dots in many games, what exactly are they??

Started by
10 comments, last by Motorhead 23 years, 6 months ago
This has been bugging the crap out of me for awhile now. I first seen them when I started playing Motocross madness 2. I noticed that where two textures might meet or in a "seam", little white dots and strings often appear then disappear. Since then I have seen them in alot of other games too. At first I thought my Geforce DDR card must be shot, so I replaced it with a prophet 2-64 mb card and that didnt help. I was perplexed. Anyway I proceeded to try everything under the sun to fix this including getting a new free motherboard from Dell and reformatting my HD. Nothing frickin worked. Totally stumped at what was causing this I then did something I should have done sooner. I brought a few of the games into my work and tried them on 3 different pc''s with varying video cards, to my utter surprise the dots appeared just like they did on my pc. I then concluded it wasnt a hardware problem after all but just a glitch or error in the software. I asked this in another forum and someone who responded (who sounded pretty informed)that this is a well known issue in many of todays games and is most definitely not a related to hardware at all. Could you explain what exactly this is and why it happens in some games?? Is their a term for this and are their any articles or sites that might have more info on this? Its kinda driving me nuts because since I started noticing them, everytime I play a game I find myself looking for them. I just dont remember seeing them in the past or maybe its just I really never noticed them. If you can help explain this, I would greatly appreciate it!!! Thanks so much.
Advertisement
If you're talking about what I'm thinking, the problem is non-standard texture coordinate centering. Nvidia cards in particular suffer from this problem.