Please help me...I'm a noob

Started by
6 comments, last by vinb 19 years, 6 months ago
Hi! I've got a problem with this piece of C++ code. //Calculate width unsigned int Width = 0; while( mRead.get() != '\n' ) { Width++; } //Calculate height unsigned int Height = 2; while( !mRead.eof() ) { if( mRead.get() == '\n' ) Height++; } RIGHT UP 'TIL HERE IT WORKS JUST FINE char* pLevel = new char[Width]; IS THIS POINTER CORRECT? mRead.seekg( 0, ios_base::beg ) mRead.getline( pLevel , Width ); I WANT TO STORE THE DATA (TEXT), FROM THE FILE, IN THE CHAR ARRAY FOR WHICH I ALLOCATED MEMORY WITH THE "NEW" COMMAND. THEN I WANT TO DRAW IT ON THE SCREEN. I KNOW THERE'S CODE MISSING AND SOME OF THE CODE I'VE WRITTEN IS PROBABLY ALL WRONG. PLEASE HELP...WHAT'S MISSING? WHAT'S WRONG? ANY SUGGESTIONS? GRATEFUL FOR ALL THE HELP I CAN GET.
Say what you mean and mean what you say.
Advertisement
you seemed to have mistakenly hit your caps lock key about 3/4 the way through your post.
Firstly, you can use the [sourse] and [/source] symbols on this forum so that you can write source like: (relace sourse with source)

int main(int argc, char **argv) {    blah;}

Er, when you load the level into the char array you use getline. That will only load the first line of the level, won't it? You might want to do a loop for every row here, or just read width * height chars from the file.

Using eof is _IMHO_ a little messy. It's fine, but you could use an end-of-map delimiter character like ! or something, the way you use \n for the end-of-line delimiter. Your way is still perfectly ok though.

Do you know how to draw it on the screen? Are you planning to display it as text in a text-mode (like dos) display, or console, or do you want it to be displayed graphically?
To the AP: I think he was using CAPS to indicate non-code text.
Thank's for the replies!

I want to draw the level, in text format, in the console window (DOS).

Something like this:

000000000##0000
000000000##0000
0000##000000000