• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Sagar_Indurkhya

C# vs. C++ for Scientific Computing

This topic is 5043 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Yeah, so I noticed that a lot of people use FORTRAN, C, C++ for scientific stuff. I think a big reason is that much of the existing code base is in these languages. But I recently read an article that provides some good reasons for C#'s candidacy: <href="http://msdn.microsoft.com/msdnmag/issues/04/03/ScientificC/"> clicky </href> I think some of the good reasons are the portibility, the availability of Decimal(128bit floating point), etc. Also, JIT works better for applications that are running for a long time. Unlike Java, C# does let you use pointers and unsafe code.

Advertisement
Hi there Sagar_Indurkhya,

Im new to C# by the way but I would say that from what I have seen of C# I think it can be used to perform scientifically if one really wanted.

I mean I don't know what else is required from a language to be considered for scientific use, but as you said the 128 bit decimal data type that C# has is one good reason, because of that kind of precision not found in float or double.

As for pointers and unsafe code I don't know what application they would have to a scientific program, thats not to say they don't, Im saying I dont know! Surely a scientific program is one that carries out scientific tasks, so if it can be coded in one language why not another since its all about how you design and write the code to solve your specific problem. C# has that one advantage of 128bit precision for decimal numbers and a host of mathematical functions, but besides that I cannot tell you why else it should or should not be used.