Re-using verts with diff norms/tex coords/colours etc?

Started by
6 comments, last by UselessRob 19 years, 3 months ago
Howdy I'm new to DirectX, so I hope this isn't a stupid question. I'm trying to do a version of my program that uses DX instead of OpenGL. So far, I've found equivalent DX commands for most things, so it's all good. However, I'm struggling to get my head around this vertex/index buffer deal. I get that you make buffers of verts and then indices for drawing your triangles. But how do you re-use verts with different tex coords, colours, normals etc? For example, the model format I use stores the tex, and normal info with the triangles along with the 3 index values in the vertex array for each corner. This way, you can use less verts because they are re-used, and the info that changes is with the triangles. For example you can then make a cube with just 8 verts, but each side has different normals, colours, tex coords etc. Under GL it's no prob cos I just go thru and pass the triangles, but D3D seems to want the tex/norm info to be with the verts. This would mean you need to duplicate any verts that are used more than once, which is a big problem because the modelling program just doesn't do that, and it can't be as efficient anyway, can it? So I'm asking how do I do this? How do I re-use verts with different norms/tex values? I figure with something this powerful there has to be a way, and I just can't see it being new and somewhat clueless. I realise I could go thru and do a call to DrawPrimitive for each triangle, but that's gotta be the worst way to do it. So any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! Rob.
Advertisement
In short: You can use multiple streams to do this.