hierarchy chart (flowchart) software suggestions

Started by
23 comments, last by JD 19 years, 1 month ago
I want to create a hierarchy chart, or flowchart, of my software project's functions and units. I have limited knowledge of flowchart software, and those I know of are too complex and outrageously priced for my very simple need. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. (If no suitable software comes along, then suggestions for 'manual' construction of my hierarchy chart will be appreciated!) ... BTW, I have downloaded and tried SmartDraw's Organization Chart Software. (SmartDraw creates some of the most popular charting software packages in Google.) Org. Chart Software was $148 USD (or $198 on and after March 8th), which is unfortunately out of my range at the moment.

Matthew Doucette, Xona Games

Advertisement
If you must document your designs using a CASE tool, I highly recommend Enterprise Architect by Sparx Systems. http://www.sparxsystems.com.au/ea.htm. I think you can get a copy for $75.
- Jason Citron- Programmer, Stormfront Studios- www.stormfront.com
Clash, thanks for your suggestion, r++. I will test out Enterprise Architect. Since I am on shared modem Internet, I will have to wait until overnight to download the trial version. :(

I wasn't sure what you meant by "CASE" when you mentioned "CASE tool", but I see that it means Computer-Aided Software Engineering. So, I'm not sure if I need a CASE tool as elaborate as the link I gave explains. Unless I do and just do not know it. Right now, I would like the structure of my project displayed in a simple hierachial chart. It will help clarify all the complexities of my program. It will also allow me to easily understand how to properly grow or improve the structure, when need be.

I will post my findings of this and other hierarchial chart software I test.

Hi,