Sorting in Java

Started by
2 comments, last by jfclavette 19 years, 1 month ago
I'm pretty new to Java, and have come across the following problem : I have a two dimensionnal array that I want to sort on one column (parameters: (column, asc). What's the easiest way to achieve this ? I need to get the other columns to follow and that's what's got me stumped. Are there sorting algorithms already implemented that will allow me to do this ? I'd rather not rewrite a quicksort for a variable number of column and content, and I need something rather fast. I sort Strings, numbers and Dates. The ability to plug my own comparison functions would be a plus. Note that for compatibility reasons, I have to use JDK 1.4, and hence can't use the features introduced since 1.5.
I teleported home one night; With Ron and Sid and Meg; Ron stole Meggie's heart away; And I got Sydney's leg. <> I'm blogging, emo style
Advertisement
I think you could make this easier if you encapsulate each row into an object.

You say you have Strings, numbers, and Dates. So let's make a class called DoHickey that is composed of those things.