Weird Particles Need Advice

Started by
12 comments, last by TempHolder 18 years, 11 months ago
Hey me and my freind are working on a game, I just finished coding the Heightmap and I Implemented it using my freinds base code. Long story short It displays the traingles with this weird particle like dust thing when 2 traingles overlap can anyone tell me how to fix my problem. Heres a Image of how it looks.
Advertisement
I'm not very experienced with this, but I might guess that you have ZFighting issues. The renderer is switching between the two triangles at each spot because their depth is so similar that the calculations are rounding off and not being accurate enough.
Turring Machines are better than C++ any day ^_~
it appears that you have some serious z-fighting among your triangles. im only saying that because it looks like your triangles are VERY small and the terrain is heavily tesselated. you could try researching polygon offsetting
ty do you know where I can read up on it, or how to fix this problem?
Not to be too rude, but for me it is the whole heightmap rendering which is wrong. Just too many artifacts there....
Maybe if you can post an image with a better prespective of the scene I may change idea...
--------------------------------If you can't understand what I said, it's not you, it's because my english sucks!
what do you mean better perspective? The problem is that if I change the camera angle, you might not see any problems, I set up the view like that cause in that spot was where you could see how it was really messed up.
You can use polygon offsetting to help eliminate z-fighting, the redbook shows how to do this.

There are also three other things you can do to help elimate z-fighting:

1- Increase the number of bits used in the depth buffer (where possible)
2- Decrease the distance of the far clipping plane, a greater view distance means the z-buffer has to span more ground with the same amount of data, which results in more inaccuracies.