If gameplay were plot, would there BE story?

Started by
78 comments, last by GameDev.net 18 years, 9 months ago
This is another thought experiment for those interested in dynamic plots... Imagine that you and a half-dozen NPCs are trekking through wilderness. You all have been forced together by fate, you all have the same objective, but you all are pursuing it for different, hidden reasons. Different people in the group have different strengths/attitudes/abilities, and you suspect there are some covert alliances. Because you're the only one that can read the ancient runes on the map, you've been designated the leader. Oh, and you have a hint that one of you might be a murderer. Now imagine that you have a suite of basic plot-related actions. For the sake of brevity (a skill I'm still learning [rolleyes]) I'll suggest a few, but imagine it's 5x as many:
  • Try to ally with / try to drive away a character
  • Accuse / defend a character (let's assume all significant events, like theft or attacks, are logged & useable in dialog)
  • Express disapproval (rumor/undermine) / support for a character
  • Typical actions: Take / drop / attack / sneak / etc.
  • Plot an action with an ally on any of the above