'CullMode' or 'The Man With X-Ray Vison!'

Started by
14 comments, last by Psychocatt 23 years, 4 months ago
I am just learning about 3D programming and tried the tutorial from wazoo (www.wazooenterprises.com). I got it to where it displays and rotates the box, but I get some strange effects. I put in lpD3DD->SetRenderState(D3DCULLMODE, D3DCULL_NONE) and when it draws the box, it seems like it draws the sides first, then the top(or lid) and then the bottom. The end effect is that bottom and the top cover up the sides. However, if I turn the cull mode to D3DCULL_CCW or just comment out the line, it all appears just fine. Maybe I am misunderstanding what the D3DCULL_NONE is supposed to do. Maybe my videocard just isn''t that great, but I would like to know if anyone knows why this maybe happening and what the correct/best way to fix it is. Thank you for your time! "I kinda think, therefore, I kinda... am?"
Advertisement
Well I''m not a D3D programmer, but if you''re getting the faces of your box looking wrong then perhaps you need to enable the Z-buffer?

I assume D3DCULL_NONE means don''t perform backface culling.
um... D3DCULL_CCW is the default mode set by Direct3D, so to set it into that mode won''t have any effect. (hence: no difference if you comment it out or not)...

lurkie
That would explane why I get the same effect when I use D3DCULL_CCW and comment out the line, but what about with D3DCULL_NONE? I still don't get why it does what it does. I have posted a picture with side by side comparisons on my site,http://psychocatt.sphosting.com/cube.html
Maybe I just didn't explane it clear enough, since I don't really understand what is happening. Thanks for your time!

"I kinda think, therefore, I kinda... am?"

Edited by - Psychocatt on November 27, 2000 3:35:24 PM
Is Z-Buffering enabled or not?
The reason it looks funny is because the back faced culling is disabled.

Please state the nature of the debugging emergency.

sharewaregames.20m.com