Makeing a flash game, need help

Started by
6 comments, last by Justaddwater 18 years, 8 months ago
Hello, i am a student learning multimedia design and i am currently working on a flash game for a project. my aim is to succesfully make a beat-em-up similar to Ninja turtles, double dragon, etc. most of it is done, all my sprites and backgrounds are finished i have managed to succesfully program in the walking limitations and scrolling background, although the most trouble i am having it coding the enemies to not only move left and right, but up and down as well, i am stressing this very much. if anybody can point me to a site that explains how to do so, or a tutorial, or source file, or conteact me. i am desperate. any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you :)
Advertisement
what exactly is your problem in getting them to move up and down? This is a very specific topic and I doubt that there are any resources available that directly address it.

perhaps if you posted a little bit more detail as to what the problem actually is someone would have better luck giving you a more detailed tip [smile]

I'll try to do my best with the information I have:

I'm assuming that you're storing enemy positions as well as their width and height, in order to make sure they don't go off the screen you are checking the x position as well as the x position + the width of the enemy. In order to keep the enemy from going off the bottom you should use the y position + the height to determine where their 'feet' are. Once this is done set a high/low boundary for the feet and enforce it just like the left/right boundary.
ok here is a picture, Image hosted by Photobucket.com

my goal is to make that guy on teh right, automaticaly move closer to the hero on teh left as a steady pace. and stop when hes not so far away. and later figure out how to exchange damage