Visualization of audio

Started by
2 comments, last by ciroknight 18 years, 8 months ago
I am currently working on a puzzle game with heave focus on audio and visual elements. In the past I have never had to sync video and audio in my projects and so I have little knowledge in this field. I think most visual programs that visualize audio use a combination of beat detection and the audio output levels as input, am I right about this or am I on the wrong track? I looked for articles here on Gamedev, but I didn't really find anything that seemed to fit my needs ... so plese, I would apprichiate pointers from anyone who have made programs that sync visual effects with audio or visualizes audio output. Best regards, Madvillainy.
Advertisement
What do you actually want to do?

Visualizers, like you'll find in a media player, usually use the sound signal as input, and measure things like loudness and spectral distribution of the sound to generate control inputs to their visual algorithm. The "sync" between audio and video is usually not that great -- it depends on what your display frame rate is versus what your sound card output latency is.

However, puzzle games don't usually involve "visualizers" like this. If there's a puzzle where you're supposed to pull a specific lever only during a certain section of a song, some meta-data will be stored separately from the actual audio, saying that "lever is pullable between audio sample 135,837 and 219,884". Typically, there will be at least 50 milliseconds latency in your sound card, and only about 10-17 ms latency in the display, so you might want to compensate for that.

If this explanation doesn't help, then you need to be specific about what you actually are trying to accomplish -- what is the puzzle, and how does it relate to the audio?
enum Bool { True, False, FileNotFound };
The only way the actual puzzle relates to the audio is scoring
more points brings you further along in the song, but