Another noob...

Started by
41 comments, last by Oxyacetylene 18 years, 6 months ago
Hello, Im not sure if this is the proper place for this kind of thread, if it isnt please move it. Anyways, I have no experience creating games, I mastered the world editor from warcraft3 for those of you who are familiar with it, but besides that, know absolutely nothing about game design. I am 16, plan on getting into game design later for a career, and am in a digital design class. Im looking for a good place to start. I plan on getting the game programing for teens book, but need to know what kind of software is begginer friendly, and any other information that might be helpful.
Advertisement
Do you want to be a game designer or game programmer?
Looks like I have got alot to learn... Im not really sure, Im guessing programmers deal with the scripting for the game such as triggers? And designers deal with creating in game objects like characters? If so then I want to be a designer.
Quote:Original post by SPARTANITE
Looks like I have got alot to learn... Im not really sure, Im guessing programers deal with the scripting for the game such as triggers? And designers deal with creating in game objects like characters? If so then I want to be a designer.

Game designers write story, come up with the charaters, etc. The programmers make the game engines, do the scripting and pretty much everything technical.
Ahh, programmer it is then. So what do I get to begin learning the basics?
I would recommend the Python programming language. It's relatively easy to learn/use and it's powerful.
Programmer or Designer?