• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
faculaganymede

Two graphics cards vs. One dual-output card (PC/DVI)

This topic is 4522 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Graphics gurus, I am new to PC graphics cards and need help making a purchase decision. I need a high-end graphics card(s) for generating two channels of DVI outputs from a single PC. High dynamic range and frame rate are important. The card(s) will be used for 3D graphics simulation. Should I get two cards or a dual-output card? Any comments, suggestions, or recommendations on specific cards are appreciated?

Advertisement
I'm pretty sure that two graphics cards would be faster. Don't take my word on it, but thats what I think.

Most likely it sounds like you're going to need two cards, or one of the asus dual-GPU cards which basically have 2 gfx cards on one board. I'd recomend 2 distinct cards, unless your system is limited to only 1 slot for graphics expansion. Other than that, you probably want at least something from the GeForce 6600, 6800, or 7800 lines, or an ATI X800, X1800 or one of their crossfire enabled cards.

Are you looking for an SLI solution where the two cards drive a single monitor or are you driving two monitors? Also, what resolutions are you planning to run? What type of graphics expansion does your computer support? PCI-Express (1 or 2)? AGP?

Ezbez & Ravyne, thank you for your replies.

Quote:
Original post by Ravyne
Are you looking for an SLI solution where the two cards drive a single monitor or are you driving two monitors?

The two DVI outputs will be to two separate monitors. We'll be running two simulation simultaneously (or rather, one simulation with two different scenes, maybe I am not using the terminologies correctly here).