• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Mattox

[java] Tile-based fog of war help

This topic is 4456 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi. I've been working on my 32x32 sprite tile-based map editor for fun for about a week now, and it's coming along great, I'm having heaps of fun and learning shitloads. I don't have any problems with it right now, some double-buffering issues, but nothing real bad. My question is, when I'm using a grid to draw my tiles, how can I draw a sexy fog of war? Circle? Square, Triangle? Fade-out gradient? Right now, my fog of war works like this: You have PLAYER_COL and PLAYER_ROW, the column and row that the player is currently in. This is currently represented by a red "X" to save time, I'm not a graphics artist so I'm not even going to bother trying to draw a player sprite yet. Anyway, each time the player movies (using arrows currently, UP/RIGHT/DOWN/LEFT, which moves the X respectively). Then I have FOG_COL and FOG_ROW, which is the "centering" of my fog column and row. The reason why I have 2 columns and rows instead of just using the player's to center the fog is because it looks extremely dodgey at the moment when the fog follows the player exactly as they move. Too fake, because my fog is chunky squares, it's very noticable. So yeah, I'll paste in my "moving" and "fog of war centering" code:
     private int GetDis(int c, int r)
     {
		return (Math.abs(c - COL) + Math.abs(r - ROW));
     }

private int GetFogDis(int c, int r)
     {
     	return (Math.abs(c - FOG_COL) + Math.abs(r - FOG_ROW));
     }

.    .    .

if(k == e.VK_UP)
     		{
     			if(COL - 1 != -1)
     			{
     				if(accessAt[COL - 1][ROW] == ACCESS_PASSABLE)
     				{
     					COL--;
     					if(GetDis(FOG_COL, FOG_ROW) >= FOG_DIS)
     					{
     						FOG_COL = COL;  
     						FOG_ROW = ROW;
     					}