Array within a class

Started by
10 comments, last by Alpha Brain 17 years, 7 months ago
hello. I'm pretty new with classes. I'm pretty used with c-structures. And I'm trying to make this code work using my knowledge from structs: #include <iostream> using namespace std; class arrayTest { public: int data[8]; void printArray(); }; void arrayTest::printArray() { for(int i=0; i<8; i++) { cout << data << endl; } } int main(void) { arrayTest array; array.data[3] = { {{0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7}}, {{0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7}}, {{0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7}} }; // unlike a struct, it doesn't work. return 0; } Technically I would like to initialize an array similar to the following process; /****************** IT IS WORKING WITH A STRUCT ****************/ typedef struct { data[8]; }arrayTest; arrayTest array[3] = { {{0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7}}, {{0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7}}, {{0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7}} }; /****************************************************************/
Advertisement
I don't believe you can actually set things like that, you have to do it line-by-line, element by element. In the case of 1-7, a simple for-loop would be able to do it with minimal effort.

for(int i = 0; i < 7; i++)
array.data = i+1;

Also, your printArray function is going outside the bounds of the array. It should be this:

for(int i=0; i<7; i++)
cout << data << endl;
actually I want an array of array like on my last exemple using a struct.

Then you need two loops instead of one; one to cycle thru each of your arrays, and the other to populate the class array with elements.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

class arrayTest
{
public:
int data[8];
void printArray();
};

void arrayTest::printArray()
{
for(int i=0; i<7; i++)
cout << data << endl;
}

int main(void)
{
// your array
arrayTest array[3];

// two loops; one to cycle thru each of your 3 arrays,
// and a 2nd to populate each element of the array in
// your class
for(int i = 0; i < 3; i++)
for(int j = 0; j < 7; j++)
array.data[j] = j+1;