How many prototypes do you throw away?

Started by
13 comments, last by GameDev.net 17 years, 5 months ago
How many prototypes have you typically thrown away when creating either a large application or an engine/library? I'm slowly working on an object oriented UDP/TCP network library in C++. I've been writing it in some form for a year or so (no time at home to work on it). I'm currently up to iteration 6, which is by the far the best design and cleanest code I've written yet. It doesn't do much as I'm still re-writing and re-designing the higher level classes. I'm re-using probably about 50% of the code/classes from the previous iteration as their functionality and design won't change. For whatever reason I've always found that I'm not that good at OO design for larger projects (ie. anything larger than a classroom lesson!). I know I can think in OO, but I tend to make mistakes when designing class hierarchies in terms of what inherits what functionality etc. I'm sure this won't be the final version as the more C++ and OO I learn, the more I refactor. I'm hoing this project can be added to my small portfolio for future job applications. So back to the original question: how many prototypes do you throw away? Thanks
---------------------http://www.stodge.net
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by stodge
How many prototypes have you typically thrown away when creating either a large application or an engine/library?

As many as it takes. However, in a large application or engine/library, the number of prototypes would be part of the plan.

John BoltonLocomotive Games (THQ)Current Project: Destroy All Humans (Wii). IN STORES NOW!
I never write the first draft using OO. That way I can focus purely on the logic.

Then when I've got it all hammered out, and the final form of everything solidifies in my mind, I go about wrapping it all in classes.