Building a MMORPG

Started by
9 comments, last by Zahlman 17 years, 1 month ago
OK, you have seen this post before. You are gonna laugh about the idea of a noob trying to make a MMORPG for his own. I would do that too. But this is different, firstly I'm not a noob (not a total noob). I'm not looking forward to make something like WoW or EverQuest, no. I'm talking about a 2D game, something like Tibia (www.tibia.com), or Endless Online (www.endless-online.com), and even that is really difficult. I'll use XNA GSE 1.0, because it is the (at least for me) easier language to learn for a noob. Currently there are lots of tutorials about it, and lots of people using it. Reply if you are instrested. Later on I'll explain the details of the project.
Advertisement
I think that something like endless online or similar is too difficult. Try make a simple not MMO 2D rpg game if you think you can handle it.
I would start with something smaller (Asteroids) and build my way up through a single player RPG and a few multiplayer games that use networking, so you can get a handle on it.

Also, XNA isn't a language -- it's a library. The language XNA Game Studio currently uses is C#.
If you want to make a MMORPG just go and do it, not sure why you're posting it here all you will get a bashed because of how many threads are made about some one making a MMORPG who never comes back to the forums anyhow later down the road with progress. I would suggest posting this under Announcements not under beginners because you have not presented a question.

Just some tips for getting started.

- Get a plan made first, without a plan on how you're going to program all of this it's going to be sloppy.

- Have some experince with programming chat clients or something that deals with connecting to a server with clients.

- Have a lot more than basic knowledge of your language which I'm assuming is C# because I used XNA and you could only use C# sadly.