[.net] Starting XNA

Started by
18 comments, last by Goober King 17 years ago
I've been giving the XNA stuff a quick look for a couple of days now. I've been thinking it may be nice to lean something new for a change. C# sounds like a good thing to learn as it will force me to start using classes which I haven't really used. I'm not really looking at it in depth as I do have a major project I don't want to shelf, but I am think a dabble here and there may be fine when I need a change of pace. Anyway I guess I'm wondering a couple of things. First to those who have been using it what are your general impressions? The idea of having provided model and texture loading so you can jump right into the game is appealing. I'm not a super coder and that low level stuff is probably better handled by the experts. My plan is to remake an old puzzle game I made back in the dos days, to learn on. Then I have a SmashTV kinda style game I want to one day do. I was going to use an old style tile system but the engine I wrote uses old Direct Draw which now runs like a turtle on booze. The other thing is I ran through the video lessons on XNA and loaded up the ol' spaceship model OK. I tried to load a basic cube model I saved using TrueSpace but it looks squished, not square. I'm not sure if it has something to do with crappy exporting or with aspect settings, or whatever. The aspect is computed by the current window settings so I'm leaning toward TrueSpace. I actually had to nab their free light version of GameSpace which is newer than my copy of TrueSpace, just to get something that would not error during the build process. Anyone had troubles importing models or know some simple do's and dont's about getting valid models?
------------------------------------------------------------- neglected projects Lore and The KeepersRandom artwork
Advertisement
I like it so far since it's almost as easy as using pygame now!
Can't get much easier than: