C# or C

Started by
15 comments, last by mohaakilla51 16 years, 9 months ago
Some background: I am a 14 year old Texan. I come from a background of web designing, and therefore know HTML, PHP, &#106avascript, little ASP, little bit of other languages. I have been coding PHP since I was ten, and learned HTML at 8. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I started learning C++ recently, mainly just because I wanted to see if I could :p, but I didn't get very far at all because it was extremely dull, I knew the basics, just not the syntax for them, so I switched to visual basic. I have created an extremely advanced calculator in it, but I have decided that it isn't the best language to learn because it really creates sloppy coders, and has no where near the power I want. I still have all my C++ stuff, including the Digital Mars compiler. I have also downloaded Visual C++, Visual C#, and of course Visual Basic (all express, I am fourteen and therefore have no $$$). So, I searched around and have decided the most popular starting language is C++, however when I go to you for beginner reource fo people who are already coders, then it gives me a crapload of stuff about Direct X. Questions: 1.) Are C# and C the same thing? 2.) How do I make games with directX (is it free)? 3.) If DirectX is not free, C or C++ (or c#?)?
Advertisement
1) Nope. C is the basic procedural language, C++ is the object oriented language based off of that (and the current standard for game development) and C# is something about "managed code" or somesuch that I'm really not qualified to comment on.
2) You'd access DirectX through another language. It's mainly a set of libraries to build a game on top of, and you can work with it with most modern programming languages. It's completely free to download the SDK. You'll want to find tutorials for this (it's something I've never gotten into myself... one of these days I'll get my head out of my AI and get to it!)