getting started

Started by
17 comments, last by meshounah 16 years, 7 months ago
Hello, I would like to get started in game development. My question is what is the best game engine that is good to learn from only requirement is that it is free. C++ is my preferred language Thank you
Advertisement
Starting off with an engine probably isn't the best place for an absolute beginner to learn, you'll need to spend some time working with your chosen language (probably with simply console (i.e. text-based) programs so you aren't overwhelmed by the complexity of whatever engine you choose to work with.

As for engines you could use however I would recommend Haaf's Game Engine or The PopCap Framework. Both are freely available 2d engines you can use with C++.

- Jason Astle-Adams

ok i'll try those (i'm past the console apps stage)
From what you said I'm presuming that you come from the "normal programming" side of the fence, right? One thing about game programming that you will notice right away is that what seem to be very small problems to solve (programs to write) become hugely complex and hard to manage in a matter of hours. I wouldn't suggest starting game development with HGE (haven't tried PopCap) until you know the ins-and-outs of C++.

This all might be right off the mark and I'm not presuming to know more than you or anything, just a heads up if you weren't already aware. (HGE is VERY good though... if you know C++, unlike me :)
Nick Wilson - Junior C# Developer | See my crappy site
thanks you the heads-up... i'll dabble with it and see how far i can go
Good luck to you. I hope you do far better than me :)
Nick Wilson - Junior C# Developer | See my crappy site
I would also recommend SDL, although it isn't a game engine it is a nice 2D gfx library you can use to build games.