i wants to make a game

Started by
18 comments, last by jaiburn 16 years, 4 months ago
so im pretty new to all this game making stuff. (like yesterday new). i dont know where to start. whats a good free program to make a game and any guides they have for tem. just give me some advice. (ive had a longer post but my browser closed and i dont rememmber what i had said)
Advertisement
i know ur reading this and wont reply
i hear a good program for 2D games is GameMaker. i have it, but have hardly experimented with it myself. it's easy to use. but u may have to find a tutorial for it on ur own for some of the complicated stuff, like collision detection. also, good luck finding sprites. if u find a good place to make them, lemme know :)

btw, i also heard u can do 3D games with GameMaker, but they don't turn out so good. and if u want to get into the advanced stuff, get a C++ program. Dev C++ is good for those without money. it's almost completely like VB, except i haven't figured out how to get glaux to work (or was it glu?). anyway, check out whichever posibilities u like
thanks, i was looking into something like c++ but i dont know where to look, is the programm called c++ or what? ive googled with many confusing results. i want something to start on and build to my desire.
C++ is a programming language. It is not itself a program. Start by reading the Forum FAQ and then come back with some more informed questions. It'll just give us a better foundation upon which to build.

-me
the real question is do you want a Windows XP envirement or windows 9x?

win 9x DCC (DJGPP) works great even for most graphics (OpenGL)

while windows XP i dont know many, but i got Visual C++ 5.0 Pro and it works wonders in XP, but that is more $ than you seem willing to/ready to spend, let me tell you now dont jump right into game programming do some math program and basic graphics then go into 3d then slowly start on the game (DirectX and OpenGL)