Did OpenGL miss a golden opportunity against DirectX?

Started by
108 comments, last by Washu 15 years, 9 months ago
I am no expert on OpenGL, but I took a look over at their site and saw that the newest GLSL spec document is from 07-Sept-2006 (http://www.opengl.org/documentation/glsl/). And that tells me, that GLSL has not been updated to match HLSL 4, and that means that OpenGL missed a golden opportunity in providing an alternative for game developers (and thereafter gamers at some point) to switch to Windows Vista to provide graphics for the newest graphics cards with DirectX 10. Microsoft bound DirectX to the new Vista platform, which has flopped. By doing that, they have cut off the newest version of DirectX from the mainstream gamers. If OpenGL had siezed this opportunity and had provided functionality in GLSL to match HLSL 4, then they could have made an alternative game platform so strong, that developers and gamers wouldn't have been forced to change to Vista to take advantage of the newest graphics cards. A shame really. Maybe it could have taught MS to stop trying to force it's audience to switch to their new windows platform, simply by binding DirectX to it. I don't like being taken hostage by a company, just because they want to force me to change a perfectly good OS, so they can make more money. Too bad OpenGL hasn't been stronger and more on the beat, so they could have provided a serious alternative :( (of course I might be totally wrong, since I haven't investigated OpenGL beyond looking at the release date of the latest GLSL - which is almost 2 years old. If Im wrong about GLSL, please enlighten me).
Quote:CalvinI am only polite because I don't know enough foul languageQuote:Original post by superpigI think the reason your rating has dropped so much, Mercenarey, is that you come across as an arrogant asshole.
Advertisement
You do know that OpenGL supports extensions? (http://developer.download.nvidia.com/opengl/specs/g80specs.pdf)