Creating a world map......

Started by
10 comments, last by gameplayprogammer 15 years, 8 months ago
i am looking to try to make a map similar to the Rome:Total War world map. i am completely new to making world maps. I know there is alot of art work involved, i am interested in the code part, how to make bumps on the map for mountains, how to make the seas move. All that cool stuff. Anyone know how i would start? couldn't add an image to the post but here is a link to what i mean. http://media.moddb.com/images/mods/1/11/10474/Map_Difference.jpg
Advertisement
If you know (or want to lean) C# here is a good link:
http://www.riemers.net/

That site contains 4 series of tutorials to learn XNA for C#. The first and the fourth are about creating a game terrain. The first is a simple one but once you follow the last series you will make a real multitextured terrain with moving water. I think this is a good place to start.

Another subject to dive into if you want to generate random terrain is Perlin Noise. It is used to generate a noise effect which you can use to generate nice terrains. :)
great, i am trying to stick to c++ as i know it better, but i think the c# syntax is similar so i should be able to convert, i am going to use directx to do the drawing. Thanks.
lol in my opinion, DON'T try c# unless your a totally object oriented freak. well thats just my opinion, tbh i really hate classes all together but they are very essiental to programming so don't take my word for it.
code zombie I'm guessing you're not partial to C++ either?
Quote:Original post by gameplayprogammer
i am looking to try to make a map similar to the Rome:Total War world map. i am completely new to making world maps. I know there is alot of art work involved, i am interested in the code part, how to make bumps on the map for mountains, how to make the seas move. All that cool stuff. Anyone know how i would start?

couldn't add an image to the post but here is a link to what i mean.