D3DXGetImageInfoFromFile not working returning 0x88760b59

Started by
2 comments, last by Evil Steve 15 years, 5 months ago
Hi, Im just learning Direct3D9 from a book and ive got to the part of learning about surfaces. Anyhow in order to create a surface with the dimentions of the image im trying to load, I am going to use the function D3DGetImageInfoFromFile and thats where im currently stuck. Heres the method thats apart of my classes.

HRESULT Direct3D9Surface::CreateSurfaceFromFile(IDirect3DDevice9 *pDevice,LPCSTR szFile)
{
	HRESULT r;
	D3DXIMAGE_INFO ImageInfo;

// set all properties to 0
	ZeroMemory(&ImageInfo,sizeof(D3DXIMAGE_INFO));

// this is where my application fails and returns 0x88760b59
	if(FAILED(r = D3DXGetImageInfoFromFile(szFile,&ImageInfo))){ return r; }

// ...
}

And im calling it like...

if(FAILED(dxResult = pSurface->CreateSurfaceFromFile(pDevice->GetInterface(),TEXT("bg01.bmp"))))

Advertisement
That error code is D3DXERR_INVALIDDATA. The Debug Runtimes and linking with d3dx9d.lib should tell you what the problem is - It sounds like the file isn't a valid BMP.
Thanks for your quick reply.

I dont seem to have a control panel applet to switch debugging levels. I have been looking for directx.cpl but its not on my system. I am using DirectX 9.0b SDK and DirectX 9.0c for runtime. Does that make a difference for development?

I would download newer SDK but I am one of those unfortunate people who still have dial up.

As for the picture being not valid, I created it in Paint Shop Pro and have checked it out in MSPaint and mfctex that comes with the SDK and alls fine.

Any ideas how I would change debugging levels without the directx applet?

I have tried debugging with d3dx9d.lib but it asks for d3dx9d.dll and I cant find that either..?
Quote:Original post by xmp