Dynamic memory allocation problems...

Started by
6 comments, last by Zahlman 14 years, 11 months ago
Hey all, I'm going crazy...I'm new to dynamic memory allocation and all that and now it appears I can't pass by reference... :shock: when I call Add() it gives me an address...or garbage for alloc, and ele it also segfaults like no other and I am clueless :x.

void getstuff(info *strux){
     info Anon;
     int count=0;
     int element=0;
     int allocated=0;
     Anon.Name=malloc(40*(sizeof(char)));
     Anon.Address=malloc(60*(sizeof(char)));
     Anon.Loc=malloc(40*(sizeof(char)));

for(count=0; count<50; count++){

fgets(Anon.Name,40,stdin);
                  if(Anon.Name==NULL)
                  break;
                  fgets(Anon.Address,60,stdin);
                  fgets(Anon.Loc,40,stdin);
                  scanf("%d",&Anon.zip);
                  allocated++;
                  element++;
                  printf("%d \n \n",allocated);
                  Add(Anon, *strux, &allocated, &element);
              system("PAUSE");

}

}
void pushstuff(int n, info *list[]){

}
void Add(info object,info *thearray,int *alloc,int *ele){
printf("alloc %d \n",*alloc);

if (*alloc<49){

alloc++;
     }
     else{
           printf("50 max!");
     return;
     }
     thearray=(info*)realloc(thearray,*alloc * sizeof(info));
     thearray[*ele]=object;
     *ele++;
     }

Advertisement
Is this C, or C++? (There might be a giveaway in there somewhere, but if so I didn't see it.)
What is the intent of this code, i.e. what needs to happen when it executes? I'm having a little trouble following the code with no context.

Wielder of the Sacred Wands
[Work - ArenaNet] [Epoch Language] [Scribblings]

Quote:Original post by blackeyed
when I call Add() it gives me an address...or garbage for alloc